Skip to content

CHP kicks-off Child Passenger Safety Week with tips and free child safety seat inspections

National Traffic Safety Administration estimates that 46 percent of Children’s seats are installed incorrectly. 
Child Safety
Barbra Rooney, Director of the Office of Traffic Safety said this week for parents and guardians to get that extra assurance that their child is as safe as possible riding in the car. 

The California Highway Patrol and the Office of Traffic Safety kick off Child Passenger Safety Week to spread the importance of seat belt safety from Sept. 18-24. 

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among children. National Traffic Safety Administration estimates that 46 percent of Children’s seats are installed incorrectly. 

“When installed and used correctly, child safety seats and safety belts can prevent injuries and save lives,” said CHP Commissioner Amanda Ray. “The best way to protect your child in the car is to use a properly fitted child safety seat and seat belt.”

California law requires that all children under age 2, weighing under 40 pounds and 40 inches tall, ride in a rear-facing car seat. All children under age 8 must ride in the back seat of a vehicle, in an age-appropriate child safety seat. Safety experts recommend all children ride in the backseat until age 13.

Barbra Rooney, Director of the Office of Traffic Safety said this week for parents and guardians to get that extra assurance that their child is as safe as possible riding in the car. 

“Child passenger safety technicians are here to assist parents with choosing and installing the right car seat,” Rooney said. 

CHP Child Safety Technicians will provide free child safety seat inspections, education, and on-hand training for parents and caregivers. Free child safety seat inspection appointments can be made year-round. 

To locate your local CHP Area Office you can visit CHP's website.