by Photo by Sarah Berjan

Chula Vista City Council Candidate Carolina Chavez for District 1 and Steve Stenberg for District 2 are leading in the unofficial early election results as of Tuesday, according to the San Diego County Registrar of Voters. 

Chavez, an economic development director, has 5,421 votes, or 52.2 % of the votes, and is ahead of local businessman and pastor Marco Contreras, who received 4,965 votes, or 47.8% of the votes. 

Stenberg, a retired firefighter, received 4,501 votes, or 52.8% of the votes, leading Jose Preciado, an assistant dean at San Dieog State University, who received 4,015, or 47.15 % of the votes. 

Chavez’s priorities include diversifying and attracting more economic development, tracking the debilitating housing crisis developing, and expanding job centers within the community. She credits her background in journalism, service non-profits, and cross-border relations have guided her to take this next step in public service. 

She is endorsed by the San Diego County Democratic Party, the San Diego Labor Democratic Club, and San Diego Democrats for Equality, among state and local civic leaders. 

Stenberg’s priorities include public safety, supporting Chula Vista’s small business community, improving and updating the infrastructure of Northwest Chula Vista, and addressing the Homelessness crisis by coordinating with regional governments and non-profit organizations. 

He is endorsed by the Chula Vista Police Officers Association, the Federal Fire Department San Diego, and several civic leaders. 

Council members serve four years and earn $60,490 annually.

The next unofficial results update will be posted on Nov.10 through Nov. 12, and Nov. 14 through Nov.18 by 5 p.m. additional updates may occur at the discretion of the Registrar of Voters. 

All results are unofficial until completion of the official canvass of the election on or before Dec. 8, according to the San Diego County Registrar of Voters. 

Visit the San Diego County Registrar of Voters website to view the unofficial election night results. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *