by Photo courtesy of San Diego County Office of Education.

The San Diego County Office of Education recognized five local educators as Teachers of the Year, representing schools in Del Mar, National City, Poway, San Ysidro, and Chula Vista. 

Representing San Diego County in the California Teacher of the Year program are: Stephanie Cluxton of Torrey Hills School, Del Mar Union School District, Jacqueline Ma of Lincoln Acres Elementary, National School District, Juanita Nuñez of Ocean View Hills, Sunset, Smythe, Willow, and La Mirada elementary schools, San Ysidro School District, and Melissa Rains, Castle Park Middle School, Sweetwater Union High School District. The state winners will be announced next month.

“Teaching has always been a challenging yet rewarding profession. These last few years have really tested us, and through it all, teachers across the county have continued to persevere and make sure that our students are cared for and have all the supports they need to succeed,” said Dr. Paul Gothold, San Diego County superintendent of schools. “The teachers we are celebrating here tonight are innovative in what they do and passionate about the students they serve. It’s an honor to be recognizing these amazing educators and individuals.”

The five selected educators were among 40 nominees that were submitted to the San Diego Office of Education. 

Learn more about these teachers in the upcoming Cox Communications one-hour “Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers” television special which recognizes local teachers, spotlight teachers of the year, and share highlights of the reception, according to a news release. 

The broadcast will air at 9 p.m. on Oct. 2 on YurView Network, also known as Cox Channel 4. Visit

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *