by Photo courtesy of San Diego County

Six newly elected county officials were sworn into office Monday morning at the County Administration Board Chamber. 

The ceremonial swearing included Fourth District Supervisor Nathan Fletcher, Fifth District Supervisor Jim Desmond, Sheriff Kelly A. Martinez, District Attorney Summer Stephan, Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk Jordan Marks and Treasurer/Tax Collector Dan McAllister.

The term of office formally began on Jan.2, 2023, and each official was administered the oath of office prior to starting their respective terms. 

Fletcher, who won a decisive victory for his second term on the Board of Supervisors, served as board chair for the past two years. Instead of seeking a third term in that post, he has thrown his support behind Supervisor Nora Vargas to take over the role.

"In four years, and despite the difficult circumstances brought on by a global pandemic, we fundamentally changed the way San Diego County supports our community," he said earlier. "We have made tremendous progress, but there is more to be done. Many of the policies and programs we introduced during my first term have recently launched or are about to launch."

Both Sheriff Martinez and D.A. Stephan will serve a six-year term. A new state law extended the four-year term to six for sheriffs and district attorneys elected in 2022. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *