by Photo by Manuel Ocaño

The United States will not allow Ukrainian refugees to arrive from Mexico's border as of next week and announced a new program backed by bi-national support to grant them "humanitarian parole". 

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) confirmed the news in a conference call. 

"As of April 25, Ukrainians who arrive in Mexico will go through the same process as those in Europe," the State Department said.

According to DHS, Ukrainians who try to cross the border by force, through checkpoints, or between ports of entry "without valid documents to enter and who have not gone through the United for Ukraine (U4U) process will return to Mexico."

Federal officials indicated that the U4U program "strongly encourages all Ukrainians currently in Europe to stay where they are and apply for admission to United for Ukraine from there."

They warned that "there will be no advantages or faster procedures for those who transit through Mexico."

The DHS said, "Mexico's government is working closely with the United States to ensure adequate, humane, and efficient processing under the United for Ukraine program".

DHS reported that "in the coming days, Canada, Mexico, and the United States will hold a North American-level conversation about the crisis in Ukraine, including support for Ukrainians fleeing Russia's invasion of their country".

The series of announcements come as the U.S. government received 15,000 Ukrainian refugees, almost all of who crossed the border from Tijuana to San Diego.

The Biden administration announced earlier this month that the United States could receive about 100,000 Ukrainian refugees.
According to U.N. figures, more than five million Ukrainians have left their country since Russia began the invasion, and more than ten million are displaced. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *